Metal Level Health Plans

  1. Home
  2. Metal Level Health Plans

Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Plans

Health plans are grouped into metal levels on the Marketplace. These levels are bronze, silver, gold, platinum and catastrophic. What does this mean for you and the costs you pay?  

There’s no one-size-fits-all health plan. That’s why there’s a choice of metal level plans. Bronze and silver level plans generally have lower monthly premiums and potentially higher out-of-pocket costs. Gold and platinum level plans generally have higher premiums and lower out-of-pocket costs.

Compare metal levels

You and your health plan are responsible for paying a percentage of your medical costs.

An image showing how to compare metal levels

Catastrophic health plans

A catastrophic health plan generally requires you to pay all of your medical costs up to a certain amount, usually several thousand dollars. These plans generally have lower premiums and higher out-of-pocket costs for health care.  They are for people under age 30 and those who qualify based on income or other factors.